Fiction

Good-Lord-Bird-James-McBride-audioBig Little Lies by Liane Moriarty, read by Caroline Lee
What begins as a lighthearted satire about suburban Australian parenting gets very dark and very twisty, very fast. The pace is quick, the characters are compelling, and Caroline Lee gives a knockout performance. — Rachel Smalter Hall

The Good Lord Bird by James McBride, read by Michael Boatman
Historical fiction about the odd couple that is ten-year-old Little Onion — a cross-dressing freed slave from the Kansas Territory — and John Brown — the infamous abolitionist — just begs to be performed out loud. Michael Boatman brings this hysterical and heartbreaking winner of the National Book Award to life. — Rachel Smalter Hall


 

Mystery

Everything-I-Never-Told-You-Celeste-Ng-audio

Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng, read by Cassandra Campbell
A haunting, slow-build of a novel that I’ve been absolutely loving. The narration is also wonderfully done. — Nikki Steele

the-whites-richard-price-audioPleasantville by Attica Locke, read by J.D. Jackson
Locke is a great writer for fans of Grisham and Lehane, who like their plots with extra twists and full of thrills. Set in the thick of black politics in Houston, it’s full of intrigue, betrayals, shady backroom deals, and courtroom showdowns. — Jessica Woodbury

The Whites by Richard Price writing as Harry Brandt, read by Ari Fliakos
Price is one of the best crime writers there is, and Ari Fliakos slips between the narration and the rhythms of blue collar cop talk seamlessly. The plot keeps moving, the character studies are riveting, and there’s not a single false step until the big climax. — Jessica Woodbury

Romance

Landline-Rainbow-Rowell-audio

Landline by Rainbow Rowell, read by Rebecca Lowman
Georgie McCool has a deal to produce her dream TV show, but she’ll have to miss Christmas with her husband to meet her deadline. Her marriage is looking rocky when she discovers a time-traveling telephone that can dial the past. Bring on the 90s pop-culture references and a strong female lead who kicks ass and takes names. — Rachel Smalter Hall

 

Suddenly One Summer by Julie James, read by Karen White
James is an auto-buy, and I know I can count on her audiobooks, which are performed flawlessly by Karen White. A divorce lawyer agrees to take on her neighbor’s sister case. He’s a cocky journalist and she’s skeptical about love. They share James’ trademark mutually denied attraction and irritation with each other. It’s terrific. — Jessica Tripler

 

Science Fiction

The Water Knife by Paolo Bacigalupi, read by Almarie Guerra

A near-future dystopia that takes place in the American Southwest where water is a scarce commodity — doesn’t seem all that unreasonable, does it California? Against this too-close-for-comfort backdrop is a familiar detective / mystery novel with corruption and crime at the center. Almarie Guerra’s smooth delivery almost makes you forget this isn’t a real thing that’s happened…yet. — Rachel Manwill

Fantasy & Paranormal

Graveyard Book Neil Gaiman audioThe Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman, read by the author
Gaiman reads many of his own audiobooks and The Graveyard Book is among my favorites of his. This one is especially good if your road trip includes children. — Chris Arnone

His Dark Materials trilogy by Philip Pullman, read by the author
The entire His Dark Materials trilogy is read by a full voice cast. Pullman reads the narration while actors read the parts. The production value is quite high and these are great reads. — Chris Arnone

 

 

Memoir & Biography

As-You-Wish-Cary-Elwes-audioAs You Wish: Inconceivable Tales from the Making of The Princess Bride by Cary Elwes, read by the author
Not only is listening to Cary Elwes like having your insides rubbed down by a velvet glove; this also features cameos from Billy Crystal, Robin Wright, and more. Everyone who made this cult film is clearly still in love with it and their anecdotes are full of infectious warmth. — Rachel Weber

Not My Father’s Son by Alan Cumming, read by the author
Actor Alan Cumming’s memoir about the strained relationship with his abusive father is the kind of story I’d be interested in, whether the author was famous or not. Rather than a “this is my whole life” memoir, Cumming takes a very specific moment in his adult life to examine his childhood and he does it so very powerfully. Plus, his spectacular Scottish accent is a delight to listen to, even as his experience is so excruciating. — Rachel Manwill

paris-letters-janice-macleod-audioParis Letters by Janice MacLeod, read by Tavia Gilbert
Janice MacLeod was on her way up the corporate ladder when she realized she wasn’t sure what she was climbing for. She saved up her money, quit her job, and moved to Europe. MacLeod shares just enough of the gritty details that you can imagine doing the same. — Jesse Doogan

Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand, read by Edward Herrmann
Louis Zamperin goes from running track in the Olympics, to surviving on a raft as sharks and Japanese bombers surround him, to being a prisoner of war, and then back to life in the U.S. Plus the audio is narrated by Edward Herrmann (Richard from Gilmore Girls in my mind), who is wonderful. — Valerie Michael

Humor


Carsick
by John Waters, read by the author

Because why not experience the most ridiculous road trip of all time while you’re on a road trip? John Waters splits his book into two: a fictional trip narrating the best possible outcome and the worst; and his actual trip, which is also fun but not nearly as insane. — Jessica Pryde

Me Talk Pretty One Day by David Sedaris, read by the author
The master of satire delivers short stories about his early life. — S. Zainab Williams

Yes-Please-Amy-Poehler-audio

Yes Please by Amy Poehler, read by the author
This book is so many different things along with being a celebrity memoir that I feel comfortable recommending it to just about anyone. It’s funny and heartfelt and just a joy. — Jessica Woodbury

History

games-without-rules-audioDead Wake: The Last Crossing of the Lusitania by Erik Larson, read by Scott Brick
I knew absolutely nothing about the Lusitania other than that it was a passenger liner sunk by a German submarine in the early years of WWI. Erik Larson examines this fateful cruise with the precise research and engaging narrative that he brings to any of his subjects. The audio version is as good a choice for history buffs as it is for mystery lovers, because the tension builds like a good, old-fashioned thriller. — Rachel Manwill

Games Without Rules: The Often-Interrupted History of Afghanistan by Tamim Ansary, read by the author
A comprehensive (and depressing) presentation of Afghan history and how superpowers both near and far have interfered in it for profit or power. — Rachel Cordasco

The Last Gunfight: The Real Story of the Shootout at the O.K. Corral and How It Changed the American West by Jeff Guinn, read by Stephen Hoye
If you’re interested in Wyatt Earp and the history of the American frontier, this one’s for you. — Rachel Cordasco

 

Science

Modern-Romance-Aziz-Ansari-audio

The Emperor of All Maladies: A Biography of Cancer by Siddhartha Mukherjee, read by Stephen Hoye
This is one of my favorite nonfiction books of all time. It is meticulously researched, empathetic, fascinating, and just truly masterful. This audiobook is long but worthwhile. I have read it in print and listened to it and I am just constantly awed by its quality and depth. — Valerie Michael

what-if-randall-munroe-audioModern Romance by Aziz Ansari, read by the author
Comedian Aziz Ansari teams up with sociologist Eric Klinenberg to tackle love and romance in the digital age. I love the mix of serious statistical research and Flo Rida analogies, and Ansari gives the audiobook a little extra flavor with ad libs and asides you won’t find in the print. — Rachel Smalter Hall

What If? Serious Scientific Answers to Absurd Hypothetical Questions by Randall Munroe, read by Wil Wheaton
A fun romp with short, self-contained chapters to dip in and out of. Munroe answers such questions as “If a bullet with the density of a neutron star were fired from a handgun (ignoring the how) at the Earth’s surface, would the Earth be destroyed?” — Nikki Steele

____________________